Destinations of Marian Shrines in Vietnam – Vietnam Catholic Tours

Destinations of Marian Shrines in Vietnam

1. Our Lady Of La Vang – 1961

A church was built near the three banyan trees, where they believed Our Lady appeared and were consecrated by the Apostolic Nunciature of the Cathedral of La Vang in 1961. This is one of the three Catholic pilgrimage centers. The Vietnamese government now recognizes.

According to the Archives of the Archdiocese of Hue (1998), under the reign of King Canh Thinh (ascended in 1792), with the ban on August 17, 1798, some believers near Dinh Cat Hill Quang Tri) to seek shelter. They came to the refuge at La Vang Mountain. In the sacred forests of poisonous water, poor conditions, lack of food, illness, fear of the military, fear of beasts, believers only know a trust to entrust to God and Mary. They gather together under the old tree, praying together, comforting and helping each other.

One day while they were praying the Rosary, they saw a beautiful woman, wearing a large robe, holding the infant Jesus, with two angels holding the lights on the two sides. They immediately recognized Maria. Mother shows kindness, affection, and comfort to the laity. Mother taught to pick a leaf that is available around it, bring water to heal the disease. She promised her mother, “I have accepted your request. From now onwards, everyone who comes to invoke her in this place will receive the blessing of her will.”

The event took place on grass near the base of the tree where the parishioners were praying. Later, she appeared so many times to support and comfort her children in the affliction.

Since then, the events of Our Lady appear in the forest of La Vang, through generations spread everywhere, and many sincerely believe in, praying to Our Lady. Our Lady of La Vang is often symbolized by a woman dressed in a Vietnamese tunic wearing a Vietnamese traditional costume.

2. Our Lady of Tra Kieu – 1898

Our Lady of Tra Kieu is the name that Vietnamese Catholics use to call Mary in the temple was built in 1898

Along with the migration movement from the North and Central to the South, Tra Kieu became the stopping place for many immigrant groups. Since 1883, after King Tu Duc’s death, the Can Vuong Movement was launched to expel French troops and slaughter Catholics. On September 1, 1885, Van Thuan troops came to the village of Tra Kieu, while Bruyère (parishioners of Paris) and parishioners failed to prepare.

The fighting between the Tra Kieu Catholic village and the soldier’s army continued for several days. In terms of forces, the Van Than rulers were more powerful in terms of manpower and weapons, so the Catholics displayed the statue of Our Lady on the altar to pray. While young people struggle, older people and children focus on prayer before the image of Mary. When they finished, they returned to Thanksgiving. The slogan of the laity is the three saints: Jesus, Mary, Joseph. Whenever the Van dynasty approached the blockade of bamboo shoots, all parishioners shouted loudly and shouted out.

Then the Van Than reinforcements. They set up the cannon on Kim Son and Buu Chau Mountain to shoot at the church, which was seen as the center of the offensive and symbol of the resistance of the faithful. The church was hit by a bullet but the damage was not significant. A cannon about 100 yards away from the church, but can not hit the church. According to the tradition, the martial art director confessed that he deliberately shot and saw “a beautiful woman, white, standing on the roof of the church should not be able to hit.” This information has caused the soldiers in the Van Than clan.

The priest and the parishioners all thought that the miracle of Mary was also to be seen, but no one saw except a woman, whose name was Chisel. At the same time Van Than also saw many young children in red robes in white from the air flying down through the green bamboo, shining silver sword to help the faithful.

On September 21, 1885, the parishioners captured Van Than’s command post on the Buu Chau Hill. Tra Kieu was released from there. At night, everyone gathered in the church thanks to God, especially Mother Mary.

In 1898, Tra Kieu built a temple on the hill of Buu Chau to remember the gratitude of the mother. Since then, the Holy Land of Tra Kieu has been known as the sacred, many of whom come to invoke the Blessed Mother and are often blessed. Many people claim that they have been cured with Non-sprout leaves on Buu Chau Hill.

On May 31, 1971, the Da Nang Bishop Pierre Pham Ngoc Chi chose Tra Kieu as the Marian Center of the Da Nang Diocese. As usual, every three years, the Diocese will celebrate the “Trai Kieu May Lady’s Festival” on May 31.

3. Our Lady of Tapao – 1959

Since 1959, the statue of Our Lady was placed on Mount Tapao with the height of 500m. On December 8, 1959, Bishop Piquet came to the feast. It has become a pilgrimage center of Our Lady

The story begins with the story of the three pupils Phuong Lam saw her appear and fly to the other side of the mountain. September 23, 1999, the feast of the Angels, a group of parishioners in Phuong Lam and neighboring areas, then the areas of Misty, Savage, Hoi An, and Saigon … poured into the border between Phuong Lam and Tanh linh with the dream to see Mother.

Many people know that the monument of Our Lady on Mount Tàpao in Tánh Linh district, Bình Thuận province and the group has flocked to Mother Mary to contemplate, pray and please … At the foot of Mount Tàpao they asked the local people Only help the way up the statue because there are no roads leading to the statue of mother outside some trails of parishioners living at the foot of the mountain to trap animals. The people who came to Ta Pagoda first came this way. Later when the pilgrims came to the crowds, many families at the foot of the mountain by the spear and side of the wages had opened the way to the Mother Statue.

At the foot of the statue mother at this time there is no concrete surrounding, so when many people came to make landslides very dangerous. Also parishioners from Dinh Quan, Phuong Lam, Gia An, Duc Tan, Huy Khiem and Dong Kho organized the pouring of concrete to prevent avalanches. At this point the local authorities did not allow the work to be done overnight after months of preparation. Because of this repair, some lay brothers were arrested, fined and sent to prison.

And since then, so many strange stories and miracles have been reported as the witnesses of God’s grace mediated through the intercession of Our Lady of Tepo. The most specific grace that can not be denied is: thanks to the love and sincerity Pray to Mother Tàpao but many souls repented repentance, renewal of life back to the main right path, how broken families are reconciled in harmony, how many people are anxious to be comforted and regain trust in life.

4. Our Lady of Sao Bien – 1992

Stella Maris “starfish” is the name of the constellation Polaris or North Star (also known as the “star”, “star of the ship”, “star guide”, etc.). This star has been known as a sign of direction since ancient times. This name is applied to Mary because St. Jerome translated into Latin the Onomasticon of Eusebius of Caesarea. In spite of the fact, the name Stella Maris is a mistake made by copying. The Hebrew equivalent of Hebrew is Miryam, the Egyptian root of this word m.r.y (literally love), the Hebrew root of marah, meaning “to sour”. The name Maria can not correspond to the word Mar yam translated as “sea drop” when it was crystallized into Stilla maris or Stella maris meaning “sea star”.

In the ninth century, Paschasius Radbertus wrote of Mary Star of the Sea as a guide to Christ “for fear of falling into the sea.” At this time, the hymn “Ave Maris Stella” has become increasingly popular.

In the twelfth century, St. Thomas Aquinas (Aquinas) said: “Mary means that the stars of the sea for the sailors led by Sea Star to shore, the Christian also reached glory thanks to the intervention of the model of Mary. ” In particular, St. Bernard of Clairvaux writes: “The name Sao Bien is so fitting for the Virgin and Mother … You are far from the earth, you find yourself attracted by the earthly waves. Do not leave the light of your eyes If you do not want to drown, If the temptation arises, If the rock rolls up on the pavement you look, you call If you plunge on the waves of arrogance, greed, talk, jealousy, you look, you call Mary.

St. Bernard was called Doctor Mellifluus. This is also the title of a message of Pope Pius XII issued May 24, 1953 about him. In this message, Pius XII also recalled Bernard’s words: “For Mary with celestial bodies is the perfect companion, for, the stars emit the light without attenuation, the Virgin Mary also In the same way, the light does not diminish the radiant power of the star, the Son born also retains the integrity of his mother’s Virgin. Why is it so high in the house of Jacob, that it illuminates the universe, shines through the heavens and penetrates into the abyss, and shines in the whole earth, warms the soul rather than the body, promotes virtue and destroys it? Mother is why the splendor grows from the immensity of the sea, shining through merit and shining for a good example. ”

Pope Benedict XVI in his message, Spe Salvi (Salvation in Hope), also said: “Life is a journey, a journey, a destination, a way to find a way? In the ocean of history, often dark and stormy, a journey in which we seek the lead stars … But to reach him (Jesus), we also need the light by the side – of those who are reflecting on His light and guiding us, and who more is Mary, the star of hope for us? You lead us!

5. Our Lady of Bai Dau – 1994

In 1926, the slope and land area of about 10 acres, originally called Vung May, was levied by Le Huu Luong, a parishioner from Vung Tau, registered with the state from April 9, 1926. Then (14.4.1926) Luong transferred back to Nguyen Hong An ancestors known as Vien An (French nationality, lieutenant). In 1926, Mr. and Mrs. An built a stone chapel, next to a “static needle” that was later buried there (but later they moved to Ba Ria and died there).

On December 1, 1927, Mr. and Mrs. Nguyen Hong An offered the chapel and land to the Society of the Missions of Paris. Back then, Vung May is dense forest, monkeys cough flamingo crows, few people dare to visit, tigers sometimes find the bait, monkeys often run to block the path. After the missionaries missions for deforestation, silkworm mulberry farming, to create jobs for a number of people here: Bai Dau, the name comes from.

In 1962, at the inauguration of the Second Vatican Council, in October 1962 at Bai Dau Vung Tau, the parish priest and custodian Paul Nguyen Minh Tri built the monument of Our Lady of Merit seven meters high on the mountain side.

In 1963, Bishop Paul Nguyen Van Binh, bishop of Saigon, inaugurated the statue of Our Lady of Mercy.

On October 10, 1965 Xuan Loc was founded. Bishop Joseph Le Van Ind, the first bishop, officially announced that Bai Dau was the center of the Mother of the Diocese of Xuan Loc, where he spent 14 days of the Cross, built a vacation home, and enthusiastically organized a solemn pilgrimage to the Blessed Virgin Mary. Many parishioners will never forget the whole of the diocesan congregation in May 1973. Tens of thousands of people and hundreds of small boats to Bai Dau celebrate the largest procession at that time to honor Mary. The successive bishops made Bai Dau more and more attracted to the pilgrimage of Our Lady.

In 1992, on the first day of the year, the Blessed Mother of God, Bishop Paul Maria Nguyen Minh Nhat, Bishop Xuan Loc placed the stone restoring the pilgrim center. The church was replaced by the 25-meter-high Goddess of God, including the 27.5-meter Goddess.

In 1994, the Statue of Mary the Mother of God was baptized and inaugurated on December 31, 1994, with the preaching of Bishop Xuan Loc Nguyen. Later, the chapel was moved down to the foot of the mountain, giving room for a cathedral with a capacity of 1 (one) thousand, was built. The ground floor has been converted into a building capable of containing 100 (one hundred) thousand people. The statue of Our Lady of Mercy, which had been standing by the ocean for years, was removed and taken to the new station at Sao Mai Parish on March 10, 1995 and the pilgrims still took steps to Sao Mai for the blessing of Mother. Today, people search for Bai Dau to pray and visit Mother land increasingly crowded.

6. Our Lady of Mang Đen – 1971

The statue was erected in 1971, but then, due to the war, the place became desolate, the statue was also damaged and dropped deep in the jungle. Until 28 December 2006, a delegation of the Archdiocese, led by Bishop Kontum Micae Hoang Duc Oanh, visited the statue, after being informed by some parishioners of the existence.

According to the documents of the Bishopric of Kon Tum , and the account of Rev. Joseph Nguyen Minh Kong (also known as “Cong”), this statue was carved in the statue of Our Lady of Fatima by Rev. Thomas Le Thanh Giving. This statue was brought to the outskirts of Mang Meng by helicopter (today there are still traces of a clear airport, about 2 km away from the statue location). The statue was erected on a simple pillar as it was in mid-1971. In 1974, due to the fire of the Vietnam War, the outpost of Mang Den was removed, the statue was also damaged more or less deeply dense forests.

Until the end of August 2006, a Catholic member named Lam, who had been passing by, had accidentally been told to come to confirm the statue and announce the existence of the statue to the Kon Tum Bishopric. On December 28, 2006, a religious delegation led by Bishop Kon Tum Micae Hoang Duc Oanh visited the statue. A year later, on December 9, 2007, Bishop Hoang Duc Oanh, priests, religious and more than 2,000 civilians celebrated the solemn Mass of Our Lady. From there, it became a place of pilgrimage of the parishioners in the Central Highlands and December 9th became the annual day of the pilgrimage of Our Lady of Mang Tum.

Book now

Traveling with us in the meaning of “CONNECT and SHARE”, you will see how life becomes special to catholic communities and it is a great chance to understand more about Vietnamese culture and catholic stories through the real local catholics.

About us

Representative: Ho Thi Suong Lan (Ms)

Tax code: 3301492791

Date of issue: 24/08/2012

Place of issue: Thua Thien Hue Province.

Contact | Privacy

Bank account

Ho Thi Suong Lan


Vietcombank – Hue


Viet Orchid Travel Co., Ltd.

16 Doan Huu Trung, Phuoc Vinh Ward, Hue City,

Thua Thien Hue Province, Vietnam.

(+84) 914 544 660 – 234 3623 896

Fax: 0234 3935 621